Broward County Library's Bienes Museum of the Modern Book , The Dianne and Michael Bienes Special Collections and Rare Book Library, and the Florida Center for the Book are pleased to present the fourteenth annual Florida Artists’ Book Prize exhibition.

The criteria for entering the competition are:

  • The book entered in the competition must have been created or published in the calendar year 2010.
  • The entry must be created or published in an edition (i.e., more than one copy), but cannot be a trade edition (i.e., produced commercially by a publishing house for sale nationally or internationally) nor can it be one-of-a-kind.
  • The artist's primary residence must be the State of Florida.
  • DEADLINE FOR ENTRY: Completed entry forms and a copy of each book must be received in the Bienes Museum by January 14th, 2011
  • All entries must be accompanied by an entry form.
  • While all artists are encouraged to participate, an artist who has won the prize for two consecutive years is ineligible to win a third consecutive time.

The prize-winning Artists’ Book becomes the property of the Bienes Museum.

Selected entries will be on exhibition at the Bienes Museum until June 17, 2011. Participating artists will be notified if their entry was selected for exhibition or not.

  • Artists or their representatives are responsible for picking up the entries:
    • All Artists’ Books selected for inclusion in exhibition should be picked up at the end of the exhibition, from June 20 through August 1, 2011.
    • Books not selected for exhibition can be picked up by March 31, 2011.
    • All entries not picked up by August 1, 2011 will be returned to the address listed in the entry form, via U.S. Mail, uninsured.

Artists agree to give Broward County Library and participating media permission to the pictures of all the entries and permission to include select images with press releases and feature articles.

The Florida Artists’ Book Prize was jointly established in 1997 by Broward County Libraries Division’s Bienes Museum of the Modern Book and the Florida Center for the Book. Serving on the jury this fourteenth year of the competition were:

Wendy Blazier, Senior Curator, Boca Raton Museum of Art (Boca Raton, FL); John Cutrone, Director, Jaffe Center for Book Arts (Florida Atlantic University, Boca Raton, FL); Cristina Favretto, Head of Special Collections, University of Miami (Coral Gables, Florida); Jean Trebbi, retired director of the Florida Center for the Book (Fort Lauderdale, FL); and Krystyna Wasserman, Curator of Book Arts, National Museum of Women in the Arts (Washington, D.C). Serving as facilitators were Debbie Llenza, librarian of the Bienes Museum of the Modern Book (Fort Lauderdale, FL); and Tara Zimmermann, program coordinator of the Florida Center for the Book (Fort Lauderdale, FL).

This year’s prize of $2,000 was awarded to Holly Hanessian for her book: “Blood and Taste".” Thirty-one other artists’ books were entered in the competition by twenty-four different Florida artists. All of the books selected for the exhibition are shown here in their entirety.

Bienes Museum of the Modern Book
Broward County Main Library, 6th Floor
100 S. Andrews Ave.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33301

Click here to browse the Bienes Museum’s 2010 Florida Artists' Book Prize Exhibition collection online.


sLibrary Home | Site Map | Contact Us
Broward Home | Terms of Use